Fairuz did very well this morning at Qualifying, and got himself a ticket into Superpole. By the grace of God and his determination and focus, Fairuz come out first at Superpole just a few minutes ago, recording the fastest lap time record of 1′44.070, 0.149 seconds faster than anyone else, indeed the best birthday gift he could get for himself on his birthday today! Blazing the track with the colours of MOFAZ Racing blazing prominently, Fairuz will be starting from 8th position today in Race 1 based on the reverse grid procedure, and Pole Position 1 tomorrow for Race 2. Stay tuned for more updates!

1. Fairuz Fauzy Mofaz Fortec 1min 44.070secs
2. Chris Van der Drift Epsilon Euskadi 1min 44.219secs
3. Jon Lancaster Comtec 1min 44.267secs
4. Bertrand Baguette Draco 1min 44.302secs
5. Jaime Alguersuari Carlin 1min 44.314secs
6. Daniil Move P1 1min 44.476secs
7. Federico Leo Pons 1min 44.488secs
8. Oliver Turvey Carlin 1min 44.491secs *
9. James Walker P1 1min 44.528secs
10. Greg Mansell Comtec 1min 44.814secs
11. Marcos Martinez Pons 1min 44.975secs
12. Brendon Hartley Tech 1 No Time

13. Sten Pentus Mofaz Fortec 1min 44.614secs
14. Guillaume Moreau KMP/SG Formula 1min 45.074secs
15. Esteban Guerrieri RC 1min 44.701secs
16. Marco Barba Draco 1min 45.158secs
17. Filip Salaquarda Prema 1min 45.637secs
18. Anton Nebylitskiy KMP/SG Formula 1min 45.238secs
19. Omar Julian Leal Prema 1min 45.649secs
20. Charles Pic Tech 1 1min 45.324secs
21. Kaisuke Kunimoto Epsilon Euskadi 1min 45.659secs
22. Salvador Duran Interwetten 1min 45.163secs
23. Mihai Marinescu Interwetten 1min 46.413secs
24. Bruno Mendez RC 1min 46.938secs

[* Pole position for reverse grid sprint race; positions alternate between Q groups B & A]



MOFAZ_08MOFAZ Racing (formerly known as MOFAZFortec Motorsport) embarks on a new circuit this weekend, the Motorland Aragon in Alcaniz, Spain, at the final race meeting for the World Series by Renault 2009 Championship. It will be the first time out on the brand new track for all the drivers competing in the championship, but the fact does not perturb the dynamic duo of Fairuz Fauzy and Sten Pentus, who have just completed the collective tests for the race weekend as this release goes out to the presses. MOFAZ Racing is currently 5th in the running for the Team Title Championship, while Fairuz Fauzy looks set to give his compatriots a tough battle out on the tracks as he looks ahead at the top 3 positions in the Drivers Championship.

This weekend also marks the international inauguration of the Motorland Aragon Circuit, and the Circuit’s management has promised a fun-filled weekend, and indeed a special surprise at the final dinner (a world –renowned Spanish singer!). Designed by F1 driver Pedro de la Rosa and famous German designer Hermann Tilke, the circuit poses the biggest and most technical challenge for all the drivers out on the Formula 3.5 grid this weekend. 7.6 gruelling kilometres per lap, 18 intriguing corners with one posing a 180˚ angle turn, this high speed circuit also boasts a height difference of 50 metres between its highest and lowest points.

MOFAZ_05The Final Round of the World Series by Renault 2009 will see a clash of the titans, as the honorary title of runner-up is equally hotly contested. With mere points separating the top 5 drivers, Fairuz Fauzy, Charles Pic, Brendon Hartley, James Walker, Jaime Alguersuari, Oliver Turvey and Marcos Martinez seems ideally placed to claim second-place.

The last two races of the season will see all the drivers battling it out, followed by the official World Series by Renault prize-giving ceremony. The teams however will remain at the circuit for three days of collective testing from October 27-29, 2009. In addition to the stars of the various Formula Renault 2.0 championships invited by Renault Sport Technologies to discover Formula Renault 3.5, the teams will be able to test their new drivers for the 2010 season, and MOFAZ Racing looks set to shine further next year in 2010 with some exciting development underway that will be announced in due time. Stay tuned!