BARCELONA, Circuit De Catalunya, 17 April 2009 – After a hectic testing schedule throughout the month of March, MOFAZ FORTEC MOTORSPORT finally makes its debut in the 2009 World Series by Renault also known as Formula Renault 3.5. The team is represented by Malaysian F1 prodigy, Fairuz Fauzy, 26, and Sten Pentus, 23, from Estonia.

Team Principal, Haji Mohamed Fauzy said “It was a big leap forward for us coming from the Asian Zone to compete on the global stage. It is another historical milestone for Malaysia.”

Fairuz (FAUZY) was 14th quickest in the morning timed practise session with 1:35.245, while Miguel Molina (Ultimate Motorsport) topped the time sheet with a lap of 1:33.542. However, in the afternoon timed practise session, Fairuz had clocked 1:35.854.

“The practise session has been encouraging. It is a track I have always enjoyed. It has some technically challenging corners that are really good fun for drivers. What matter is being quick tomorrow in qualifying.” said the MOFAZ FORTEC lead driver at the end of timed practise sessions at the Catalunya Circuit.

Meanwhile, it was a constructive day for Fairuz’s teammate, Sten (PENTUS). He had clocked 1:34.852 to finish 10th in the morning practise session. He will be one of the rookie drivers to watch out for in the championship after performing well in the pre-season tests. The Estonian had clocked 1:36.146 in the afternoon session.

The afternoon practise session was marred by red flag in a couple of occasions, which had relatively affected both drivers lap times. Fairuz and Sten will start in Group B & A respectively in the qualifying sessions tomorrow.

The team looks forward to a healthy start in the competition. The race will be aired live on EUROSPORT channel. Please check your local listings for viewing time.

Race schedule (local time):

Saturday, 18 April

Qualifying (Group A) 09:00 – 09:20
Qualifying (Group B) 09:25 – 09:45
Qualifying (Superpole)* 10:45 – 11:00
Race 1 (28 laps) 13:48

Sunday, 19 April

Race 2 (28 laps) 13:03

*Best of six drivers from each group competing for pole position.